Skip to main content

OCPL Digital Library: Daughters of the American Revolution Genealogical Research System

This guide contains information about all of the online resources that the OCPL offers.

About

 

The DAR Genealogical Research System (GRS) is a free resource provided by the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution   (DAR) to aid general genealogical research and to assist with the DAR membership process. The GRS is a collection of databases that provide access to the many materials amassed by the DAR since its founding in 1890.

DAR members across the country are passionate ambassadors for genealogical preservation and research, and the National Society is committed to being a premier provider of genealogical resources. The online databases are the culmination of 10 years of work by members volunteering to scan and index the vast genealogical resources of the DAR Library. The creation of these research tools was funded in large part by the President General's Projects of Linda Tinker Watkins (2001-2004) and Presley Merritt Wagoner (2004-2007). This system of databases will continue to expand as new information is added.

The databases contain DAR proprietary information which should under no circumstances be redistributed to others; assembled or collected for purposes other than DAR membership or for citation in genealogical scholarship; or reproduced, published, or posted in any form whatsoever.

How to Access the Database

Click here to get started: 

http://services.dar.org/Public/DAR_Research/search/?Tab_ID=0

Here is a tutorial on how to use the database: